Graduate School of Banking at LSU Announces 2022 Bank Management Simulation Winners

Every year, the seniors of GSBLSU take part in the Bank Management Simulation course, a computer-based program that is specifically designed to provide students with a look into management and the decision-making process in specific banking areas, such as investments, funds management, risk management, loans, and asset/liability management.

BMSim is an intensive computer-based educational experience, which serves as the capstone course of our school during students’ final year of instruction.  The class is divided into management teams in six communities to operate simulated banks, and those teams concern themselves with the results of their individual banks, while competing with other banks within their communities.  All teams begin with the same, base-line financial situation – a hypothetical bank with a variety of management and financial challenges – and, during the two-year simulated period, make a wide range of “quarterly” decisions involving all aspects of bank management and operations.  Through computerized analysis, the teams are able to immediately observe the results of their decisions.

The climax of the competition is a verbal presentation to a panel of judges (acting as shareholders and comprised of active or retired actual bank CEOs and examiners) who evaluate the quality of the performance of all teams and select one winner from each community.  Criteria for selection consists of team organization, consistency of performance, bank earnings, the team’s ability to report results to shareholders, and the position of the simulated bank for the future.

The winners in each simulation are recognized, along with their home bank’s president and CEO with a letter and certificate of recognition honoring their outstanding work during the Bank Management Simulation.  We are pleased to share the team winners that were announced at graduation on June 3, 2022.

A1 Luis Delgado Banco Del Bajio MX
A1 Matthew Ferguson Investar Bank LA
A1 Marshall Fratesi Bank of Oxford MS
A1 Daniel King Centennial Bank TN
A1 Lisa Milanese Scott Hancock Whitney Bank FL
A1 David Reinking American Bank MO
A1 Chris Ward Georgia Dept. of Banking & Finance GA
B3 Juan De Los Rios Banorte MX
B3 Brice Fields 1st Trust Bank KY
B3 Lauren Hendricks United Bank WV
B3 Lance Markham Citizens Bank TN
B3 Jason Pittman Citizens First Bank FL
B3 Clay Smith Chambers Bank AR
C2 Eric Allen Trustmark National Bank AL
C2 Joshua Housel Marine Bank & Trust FL
C2 Billy Johnson SunMark Community Bank GA
C2 Tim Stokely INSOUTH Bank TN
C2 Deana Veal Gulf Coast Bank & Trust Co. LA
C2 Omar Viramontes Banorte MX
C2 Andrew Whalen Planters Bank & Trust MS
D2 Wes Burnett American Bank & Trust TN
D2 Melinda Coco The Cottonport Bank LA
D2 John Eastridge Citizens Bank & Trust KY
D2 Joseph Hendrickson Southern States Bank AL
D2 Josh Linden Centennial Bank AR
D2 Everet Maturin Angulo Banorte MX
D2 Don Williams MS Dept. of Banking & Consumer Fin. MS
E4 Brad Branscum First Community Bank TN
E4 Oh Hoon Kwon First IC Bank GA
E4 Hermes Oria Banorte MX
E4 Carmen Ramirez Hancock Whitney LA
E4 Harold Smith M C Bank & Trust Co. LA
E4 Walt Vaughan Bank of Commerce MS
F5 Rodrigo Colorado Ferman Banorte MX
F5 Jennifer Johnson Mountain Valley Bank TN
F5 Justin Little Nutrien Financial GA
F5 Matt Seawright BankFirst Financial Services MS
F5 William Talley Marine Bank & Trust FL
F5 Mason Vidrine Evangeline Bank & Trust Co. LA